My “Next Big Thing”

As I was struggling to decide on today’s blog post topic, my friend Icarus Niles Kenry from Musings of a Nameless Dream3r tagged me to do a blog on my “Next Big Thing”. The rules of the blog hop are that I am to answer ten questions about WIP (my story / blog post / current written obsession thing) followed by passing it on to at least one person.Let the pain begin!

I began this challenge by roaming my house in a panicked frenzy, pacing round and round the half-wall of my living room, wailing every imaginary curse word I could remember having ever heard. Real curse words being prohibited in my house, a rule I occasionally remember to adhere to.

When I finished my pacing rounds, I had a quick sit down with my characters. Over the course of the next 30 minutes, they proceeded to give me lists of reasons why each in turn should be listed below. None of them were able to give me satisfactory answers as to whom was better for the job, and I finally just went with my oldest and most complex idea that I intended to work on next year.

I was halfway through the sheet when I was suddenly attacked with a story I never saw coming. I started a short story challenge to write a short story about the end of the world on December 20th and 21st, in honor of it’s obviously ending status. Said story walked up to me, grabbed my face, and informed me thatsince it was the only story being written this year, it was obviously my next big thing.

Yeah. I feel kind of stupid. So without further ado: My ap0calypse story.

1. What is the working title of your book?
Prelude to the Apocalypse (Yes. I did just make that up just now as I was reading that question. No, it doesn’t make very much sense considering the apocalypse has already occurred when it starts. What about it?)

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?
It came up when I agreed to a collaboration with Icarus. The story bombed instantly, and before it was resuscitated I developed a full blown image of what future life was like before the story began. Then I issued the challenge to write an End of the World short story. I hear Zombie Apocalypses are all the rage right now.

3. What genre does your book fall under?
We are writing the main story in Steampunk, but I believe the prelude fits better into SciFi. It’s all tech, and the Steampunk doesn’t come in until much later in the story (the part I am collaborating on).

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
None of them. I am a firm believer that when you choose actors for your characters they tend to bleed through onto the paper. I’d rather find random pictures online if I must have visual inspiration. Just the right pose can inspire me 100% more than any actor. Also with the very rare exception, movies never portray books well. I want a manga, not a movie.

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
A group of children have been cut off from civilization by the zombie apocalypse, and one girl must keep them hidden when the power goes out, or lose them all.

6. If you plan to publish, will your book be self-published or published traditionally?
I intend to publish the short story on my blog after I edit it and possibly expand it (given that it feels longer than my challenge will allow). This will be entirely up to Icarus’s discretion, of course, as he is vying for traditional publishing of the novel itself, rather than blogging or self-publishing it. If it isn’t blogged, it shall never see the light of day.

7. How long did will it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
This question has been altered due to its lack of drafty goodness. I intend to write it on the 20th and 21st (so two days), but may extend this time frame out into next year if it turns into more than just a short story. Only time will tell.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
Lots of books I refuse to reference. Why? Because the second I start comparing it I will believe it isn’t original enough, which it is. In order to write it, I need to believe it is the most original idea under the sun, whether it is or isn’t in reality.

9. Who or What inspired you to write this book?
Icarus and Sarah (both are fellow Wrimos in my writing group). Icarus for suggesting the collaboration. Sarah for suggesting I write the prelude I’d been rolling around in my head instead of making up a new idea.

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
It has a strong female lead, which I feel is still lacking in entirely too much fiction. She isn’t portrayed as a hero or an all-gifted wonder, nor is she particularly smart or funny. She’s just a nearly uneducated kid, trying to keep a throng of even smaller kids alive long enough for them to learn to protect themselves.

Speaking of kids, did I mention it has an all child cast of characters? No, the adults aren’t all dead in the world, but in this particular group, there are none. They’ve been separated or killed, and as with any apocalypse, news is hard to come by. Taser, the eldest of the group, is going to be the “very first adult” two weeks after the prelude begins. Plus, it has a character named Taser in it. Come on, you know you want to read about a character named Taser.

If none of that gets you interested, here’s the prelude to the prelude (which was pre-written for the collaboration and doesn’t count toward my challenge):

In the year 2152 a woman died. Her name was not recorded. No one remembered her. Her death ended the world.

She left behind a husband and a brother. Together, they created a program that not only facilitated time travel, it allowed the user to transfer elements of their world with them. But time travel was a forbidden science. The machine was soon destroyed, and its programmer imprisoned. Stricken with grief, her widow became obsessed with reanimating his wife. If he could not travel back in time to save her, he would bring her back from the dead.

And he was successful. His wife returned to life. As did everything else that had died in the vicinity.

As did everything they killed.

But this isn’t the year 2152. This is the year 2166. That was a very long time ago, and this isn’t her story.

Now, to carry on the tradition of the blog hop, I am passing this blog to a couple of writers I think have the next big thing and are in possession of a blog. Let the record state that if my brother ever gets a blog, he’s required to play.

-Lissa from Take Your Time and Create a Masterpiece
-C.W. Rogers from Duck Writings
-Cos from Cosmam’s Awesome Site // Note that I am aware he’s been previously tagged, but since I firmly believe he won’t take up the torch, I’m double dog daring him in the form of a second tag. Do it or Icarus promises to cry.

This entry was posted in My Projects. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My “Next Big Thing”

  1. Wait, when was I tagged for this before? I really don’t remember…though I *do* often skip these blog hops. This one I may do, though, because my blog is neglected and needs love.

    Also, I love your book idea! It makes me want to read it, once you get properly done with it.

  2. rcwrimo says:

    X_X I honestly changed my idea last minute because I didn’t have time to finish this one. I am hoping to write the idea I listed in January though. This week is the busiest week of the year. I forgot how busy I was.

  3. tehdux0r says:

    Wow, I totally missed this because of the holidays. I better get on it. *hugs*

Leave a Reply

